First blog post ever! – Getting my zest back!

2016 was brutal. It was a hard year for many people around me, and while my year wasn’t as bad as many others – it was definitely my hardest year to date. With that being said I don’t want to dwell on it too much – I mean don’t get me wrong there were many good times in those 12 months – but overall it was a hard slog. I didn’t realise it until the end of the year but I had crashed and burnt.  Mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually.

I lost my positivity – which is crazy as being happy and looking at life optimistically is just so ingrained in who I am. It’s in my DNA. It just comes naturally. Well, it did. And then 2016 happened.

I lost my confidence. I lost my spark. I lost my sweetness. I lost my joy. I lost my friends.  I lost my desire to eat healthily and work out. I lost my passion for my job. I lost my way. I lost ME. I lost my “zest”

I might go into some of the “why’s” at a later date, but for now, this is the summary of my year. Of 2016. And that year is gone and here before us lies a brand new one. And let me tell you, I have never looked forward to a new year starting as much as I did 2017. I needed it. I had to close that chapter and start a new one.

So here’s to 2017. A clean slate. A blank page. A chance to start over. A chance to get my zest back. I’m ready to be ME again. I’m taking back control. I’m making lemonade.

Leave a Reply

